Homepage Inspiration Places to stay Destination guides London this weekend

Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2009: Longlist Revealed

If you missed the news in yesterday’s Evening Standard – well here it is again – the now free paper has announced the long list for Evening Standard Theatre Awards 2009.The shortlist will be unveiled next week and winners announced on 23 November at a star studded event at the Royal Opera House, London. This year sees the introduction of a new category moniker, the best actress award is named in tribute to Natasha Richardson, who passed away this year.The judging panel includes: Henry Hitchings, the Standard, Susannah Clapp, The Observer, Matt Wolf, International Herald Tribune, Georgina Brown, The Mail on Sunday and Charles Spencer, Daily Telegraph.Standard deputy editor Sarah Sands chairs the panel and Evening Standard executive director Evgeny Lebedev, will present his own special award.If you want to check out the shows visit lastminute.com/theatre for great deals and theatre, dinner and packages too.Here is the Awards Long listBest ActorBertie Carvel - The Pride (Royal Court)Michael Feast - Plague Over England (Duchess)Henry Goodman - Duet For One (Almeida/Vaudeville)David Harewood - The Mountaintop (Theatre 503/Trafalgar Studios)Matthew Kelly - Who's Afraid Of Virginia Woolf (Trafalgar Studios) Troilus And Cressida (Shakespeare's Globe)Ian McKellen - Waiting For Godot (Theatre Royal Haymarket)Simon Russell - Beale The Winter's Tale (Old Vic)Mark Rylance - Jerusalem (Royal Court)Kevin Spacey Inherit The Wind (Old Vic)Ken Stott A View From The Bridge (Duke of York's)David Tennant Hamlet (RSC Stratford/Novello)David Troughton Enjoy (Gielgud) Inherit The Wind (Old Vic)Samuel West - Enron (Royal Court)The Natasha Richardson Award for Best ActressSamantha Bond - Arcadia (Duke of York's)Deanna Dunagan - August: Osage County (Steppenwolf/ National)Penny Downie - Helen (Shakespeare's Globe)Rebecca Hall - The Winter's Tale (Old Vic)Pauline Malefane - The Mysteries (Garrick)Lyndsey Marshal - The Pride (Royal Court)Mary Elizabeth Mastrantonio - A View From The Bridge (Duke of York's)Amy Morton – August: Osage County (Steppenwolf/ National)Juliet Stevenson - Duet For One (Almeida/Vaudeville)Michelle Terry - England People Very Nice (National)Rachel Weisz - A Streetcar Named Desire (Donmar Warehouse)Best PlayAugust: Osage County - Tracy Letts (Steppenwolf/National)England People Very Nice - Richard Bean (National)Enron - Lucy Prebble (Royal Court)Jerusalem - Jez Butterworth (Royal Court)Our Class - Tadeusz Slobodzianek/Ryan Craig (Steppenwolf/National)Pornography - Simon Stephens (Tricycle)Punk Rock - Simon Stephens (Lyric Hammersmith)Tusk Tusk - Polly Stenham (Royal Court)When The Rain Stops Falling - Andrew Bovell (Almeida)The Ned Sherrin Award for Best MusicalA Little Night Music (Menier Chocolate Factory/Garrick)Been So Long (Young Vic)Hello, Dolly (Open Air, Regent's Park)The Mysteries (Garrick)Spring Awakening (Lyric Hammersmith/Novello)Sunset Boulevard (Comedy)Best DirectorHoward Davies - Burnt by the Sun (National)Marianne Elliott All's Well That Ends Well (National)Richard Eyre - The Last Cigarette (Trafalgar Studios) and The Observer (National)Rupert Goold - Enron (Royal Court)Jeremy Herrin - Tusk Tusk (Royal Court)Janice Honeyman - The Tempest (RSC Stratford/Richmond)Sean Mathias - Waiting For Godot (Theatre Royal Haymarket)Sam Mendes - The Winter's Tale (Old Vic)Ian Rickson - Jerusalem (Royal Court)Anna D Shapiro - August: Osage County (Steppenwolf/National)Best DesignJon Bausor - Kursk (Young Vic)Miriam Buether - Judgement Day (Almeida)Lez Brotherston - Dancing At Lughnasa (Old Vic)Bob Crowley- Phedre (National)The Power Of Yes (National)Rob Howell - The Observer (National)Mamoru Iriguchi - Mincemeat (Cardboard Citizens/Cordy House, Shoreditch)Peter McKintosh - Prick Up Your Ears (Comedy)Vicki Mortimer - Burnt by The Sun (National)Christopher Oram - Hamlet/Madame de Sade/Twelfth Night (Donmar at Wyndham's)A Streetcar Named Desire (Donmar Warehouse)Todd Rosenthal - August: Osage County (National)Ultz Jerusalem (Royal Court)The Charles Wintour Award for most promising playwrightAlia Bano (Shades/Royal Court)Kieron Barry (Stockwell/Landor & Tricycle)Lucy Kirkwood (It Felt Empty When The Heart Went At First But It Is Alright Now/Arcola)Molly Davies (A Miracle/Royal Court)Katori Hall (Mountaintop/Theatre 503 & Trafalgar Studios)Ella Hickson (Eight/Trafalgar Studios)Alexi Kaye Campbell (The Pride/Royal Court & Apologia/Bush)The Milton Shulman Award for Outstanding NewcomerNaana Agyei-Ampadu (Been So Long/Young Vic)Aneurin Barnard (Spring Awakening/Lyric Hammersmith)Lenny Henry (Othello/Northern Broadsides at Trafalgar Studios)Ruth Negga (Phedre/National)Bel Powley (Tusk Tusk/Royal Court)Toby Regbo (Tusk Tusk/Royal Court)Tom Sturridge (Punk Rock/ Lyric Hammersmith)Charlotte Wakefield (Spring Awakening/ Lyric Hammersmith & Novello)Phoebe Waller-Bridge (2nd May 1997/Bush)